Astral Projection?

For those of you who don’t know, astral projection is basically a self-induced out-of-body experience.  I’ve always been fascinated with astral projection – as well as its cousin lucid dreaming – ever since finding out about it sometime last year.

I made several attempts at the feat last summer, only one of which led to a sort of pseudo-success in which I was looking towards the door in my mind, but it appeared as a faint outline against a dark background.

Afterwards, I gave up on it for several months.

This summer, I have picked it back up.  After several more failed attempts, at about 5:30am CDT this morning, I finally reached the point that confirmed to me that out of body experiences are indeed possible.

Don’t get your hopes up, I only got halfway out.  Head buzzing – check.  Ears static-ing – check.  I opened my eyes slightly to see my vantage point bobbing around just above where my head was supposed to be, with at least one of my feet in the air above the covers.  But then my throat began to close up.  I didn’t expect that, so I ended it there so I could review the process the following day.

It reminded me of trying to do sit-ups in 1st-grade gym class.  I had next to no abdominal strength back then – and similarly, I require practice.

Questions, comments, suggestions?  Don’t be shy.  I know at least a couple of you are into this stuff.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by flowofmysoul on July 30, 2013 - 1:03 am

    My advise is not to think of a particular target just before you are going to sleep, it will work against what you actually want. Try to sleep with a clear mind and let your subconscious mind do the work, you lucid dream picture and understanding will be more clear and easier to control.

  2. #2 by Xanth on August 8, 2013 - 10:30 pm

    You sound like you’re doing pretty good! I’d suggest that the next time you experience what you relayed here is to remain calm. I believe that the throat-closing you experienced was due to not remaining calm. In the non-physical state, as such you were, you have no throat… food for thought. 🙂

Leave a Reply

